



The Rose Tree Media
Board of School Directors held
a Legislative Meeting
on May 25, 2023

Board of Education Members

Theresa Napson-Williams

President
Ken Dinitz

Vice President

Hillary Fletcher
Jackie Gusic

Susan Henderson-Utis

Shelley Hunt

Robert Kelly

Susan Layne

Kelly Schaffer

Student Liaisons

Joy Chen Jason Lanka Neil Sen

Acting Superintendent

William Dougherty

More information available at www.rtmsd.org/domain/60

Board of School Directors UPDATE

May 2023

Highlights

Springton Lake's Sharon Williams Chosen as Finalist for PA Teacher of the Year

Sharon Williams, a Springton Lake Middle School language arts teacher, was selected as one of 12 finalists for 2024 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year!

The honor serves as a platform to highlight the vital role that K-12 teachers play in shaping the future generation. With nominees from nearly 500 Pennsylvania school districts, Ms. Williams' recognition as a Teacher of the



Year finalist is a testament to her unwavering passion and tireless efforts. It celebrates the profound influence she has had on her students' lives and acknowledges the extraordinary commitment she's held to fostering a love of learning and inspiring academic growth over 16 years in our district.

Acting Superintendent Bill Dougherty recognized Ms. Williams during his remarks at the Legislative Meeting on May 25.

To read more about Ms. Williams and the Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year Award, visit: https://www.delcotimes.com/2023/05/20/rose-tree-media-language-arts-teacher-named-pa-teacher-of-the-year-finalist/



Rose Tree Media School District | 308 N. Olive Street | Media, PA 19063 | 610-627-6000 | www.rtmsd.org

Board Approves Final Budget for 2023-24 School Year

The Rose Tree Media Board of School Directors approved the district's budget for the 2023-24 school year. The 2023-24 General Fund Budget has expenditures of \$117,038,526 and revenue of \$114,488,009. It includes a projected use of the fund balance in the amount of \$2,550,517 – a 40-percent reduction from last year. The budget advances the district's goal of eliminating any reliance on fund balance.

In addition to this reduction, the district's 2023-24 budget tax increase of 3.7% is smaller than the Pennsylvania Act 1 limit of 4.1%. Last year, the district took the full increase. Rose Tree Media's millage tax rate remains third lowest of the fifteen districts in Delaware County.

More information about the RTMSD budget is available on our Business Office webpage.



The Board of School Directors recognized numerous staff and students for their accomplishments and honors:



• Franklin Mint Credit Union Excellence in Teaching Award Kristin Harkness (Glenwood teacher), Devon Hartzell (Springton Lake teacher), and *Dana Welc* (Media Elementary teacher) were honored for receiving the Franklin Mint Credit Union Excellence in Teaching Award. Recipients receive \$1,000 towards classroom expenses and a commemorative keepsake. The recipients' school also receives a \$1,000 award.



Citadel Heart of Learning Award

Jessica Anderson, Family and Consumer Science teacher at Penncrest, was recognized for receiving the Citadel Heart of Learning Award. This award is presented by the Citadel Credit Union to teachers who have gone the extra mile in and out of the classroom. The award was given to Mrs. Anderson during a surprise ceremony in her classroom that was covered by Fox29 News.

- Student School Board Members The Board presented the Rose Tree Media Award to Neil Sen, Joy Chen, and Jason Lanka for their service as 2022-23 Student School Board Members.
- Penncrest All-State Musicians The Board presented the Rose Tree Media Award to Josie InTham, Zoe MacKenzie, Evan Menta, Olivia Truocchio, and Benjamin Weaver for representing Penncrest High School at the PMEA All-State Conference. *Mr. Craig Snyder* is their teacher.
- Delaware County Technical School Awards The Board recognized three Penncrest students who also attend the Delaware County Technical School for receiving the following awards:
 - o **Devon Umberger** Presidential Excellence Award
 - o **Pete Valtos** Registry of Excellence Award
 - o Aiden Tajirian Klein Tool Award
- **Retirements** The Board accepted the retirements of the following long-term employees:
 - o Donna DiSantis, Bus Aide, 8 years of dedicated service.
 - o Julie Gropp, Support Staff II, Springton Lake Middle School, 20 years of dedicated service.

More information available at www.rtmsd.org/domain/60